gâté

Gâté. That’s the new French word I recently learned.

Last week, my colleague said through a mouthful of brioche, that we are gâté. I stared blankly back at him. “Huh?”

“Spoiled. It means spoiled.”

What a great word, I thought. I toss that word around nonchalantly, but we are, in so many ways, spoiled. I’m referring to myself and those around me, whom I’ve observed to have thankless behaviors.

We live in an age where instant gratification is a lifestyle. We want something, we get it. The drapes are becoming faded, we replace them. My friends and I are not wealthy, neither are we poor. We’re the average person on the street with a steady income. Sometimes we aim for more expensive goods, in which case, we ‘scrimp and save’ for a few months to attain that good.

But who are we kidding. When we do ‘scrimp and save’ we do it to get the latest iPhone or a spanking new expensive designer bag. There are people who scrimp and save to have a nice meal for special occasions.

This isn’t a post to expose the brashness of myself or friends who complain about life’s occasional inconveniences, though I am guilty every once in a while of melodrama. Life has given me quite a few cherries, an occasional lemon splat in the face, but for the most part, I’ve gotten sweet fruits.

You know. Because I’m not an ingrate. Perhaps still spoiled though.

 

Leave a Reply

